If you are planning to get married in New York, you may need to know all the details about a New York marriage license.
In this article, we will discuss the requirements, costs, and everything connected with getting a marriage license in New York. So, let’s start!
For getting a marriage license in New York, both parties must apply in person. They may apply to any town or city clerk in the state to get the marriage license. Nobody can apply for a license instead of the ones who are getting married. Even If the representative has a Power of Attorney, he or she still can not apply for the license.
Both parties must be present and sign the application for the marriage license. They should sign the application in the presence of the town or city clerk. Even if the applicants show notarized marriage license affidavits, those documents still can not replace their personal appearance.
Like other states in the US, New York has its requirements for a marriage license, as well. Especially, there are strict age requirements that every applicant must meet to get a NY marriage license.
Before coming to the age requirements, let’s analyze who can and can not get married in New York.
Regardless of the fact that two persons are legitimate or illegitimate offspring, they can not marry each other, if they are siblings or cousins. A marriage can not take place between an ancestor and descendant, as well as, between an uncle and nephew or niece, or an aunt and nephew or niece.
People who were divorced before can get married in New York. However, they must mention that information in the application. The information includes whether the former spouse is alive or not. They must also include when, where, and who granted the divorce. Moreover, the clerk may require a certified copy of the Decree of Divorce or a Certificate of Dissolution of Marriage.
Same-sex marriages now are legal in New York State. It is according to the Supreme Court’s decision in the case of Obergefell v. Hodges.
When applying for a NY marriage license, keep in mind that you will need to show proof of your date of birth. One of the following forms of identification may also be needed to take with you to prove your real age;
Here are the age requirements every person should know about before applying for a NY marriage license:
There is no need to wait for the New York marriage license, as it is issued immediately. However, the persons must wait 24 hours from the time they obtained the license and then perform the marriage ceremony. In the case of breaking one of the laws, the Supreme Court of New York State has the right to cancel the license within 24 hours.
A New York marriage license is valid within 60 days. It can be used only anywhere in New York State.
A New York marriage license costs $35. You can pay it by credit card or in cash.
In New York, a person’s surname does not automatically change upon marriage. It is their will whether the parties will change their last names or not. They are not required to do so.
Both parties can also take the same surname. And, if one of the parties or both two decide to change the surname, they must fill new name in the application form in the appropriate space. The new name must include one of the following versions:
Due to new technologies, in New York, couples can already get married virtually. Governor Cuomo has provided an opportunity to get a New York marriage license online. The new law was signed on April 18, 2020.
Couples can get a marriage license by using videoconferencing technology. They just need to be located anywhere in New York during the videoconference. As the City Clerk’s Office is not currently performing marriage ceremonies, a couple can choose a person who will perform their marriage ceremony. All the participants of the videoconference must physically be in New York while participating in the ceremony.
If you want to obtain your marriage license virtually, you can visit this website and start the fun process: nyc.gov/Cupid
Except for the licenses that were issued in the five boroughs of New York City, the others can be obtained from the city or town clerk who issued the license. You can obtain copies of marriage licenses from the New York State Department of Health, as well.
The fee for obtaining a certified copy from the city or town clerk is $10. However, if you want to obtain it from the New York State Department of Health, the fee is $30.
For a certified copy, apply to:
New York State Department of Health
Bureau of Vital Records Certification Unit
P.O. Box 2602
Albany, New York 12220-2602
In New York, you can apply for a marriage license by visiting the town or city clerk's office where one of you resides. You'll need to provide proof of your residence, as well as identification such as a driver's license or passport. Both parties must be present to apply for the license.
To apply for a marriage license in New York, you and your partner will need to visit the town or city clerk's office where one of you resides. You will need to provide proof of your residency, such as a driver's license or utility bill, as well as identification such as a driver's license or passport. You will need to fill out an application form and pay a fee. Both parties must be present to apply for the license.
It typically takes a few days to obtain a marriage license in New York. Once you apply for the license, the town or city clerk's office will issue the license after a 24-hour waiting period. The license is valid for 60 days from the date of issue, so you will need to get married within that time frame.
The fee for a marriage license in New York varies depending on the town or city where you apply. In most cases, the fee is around $40. It's a good idea to contact the town or city clerk's office where you plan to apply for the license to find out the exact fee. You can usually pay the fee by cash, check, or credit card.
You can obtain a marriage license in New York by visiting the town or city clerk's office where one of you resides. You will need to provide proof of your residency, as well as identification such as a driver's license or passport. Both parties must be present to apply for the license. You can find the address and contact information for your local town or city clerk's office by searching online or checking your local phone directory.